Board of Directors

The Global Alliance Executive Board of Directors sets the overall strategy for the Global Alliance and oversees execution in tandem with the GA Center in Lugano, Switzerland.


The Board consists of five officers (Chair, Chair-Elect, Immediate Past-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer), each of whom serves a renewable two-year term, as well as directors from around the world. All seats are filled at the Annual General Meeting. The board also has the authority to fill vacancies between AGMs, subject to ratification at the next Annual Meeting.


The Global Alliance Board Executive Committee 2013/2015


Anne Gregory, Chair, CIPR Fellow, United Kingdom

Anne Gregory

Dr. Anne Gregory is Professor of Corporate Communications, Strategy, Marketing and Economics at the University of Huddersfield. An internationally recognized researcher, Anne also heads a specialist consultancy from the Centre working for diverse public and private sector clients. At the beginning of 2011 she worked full time with the Department of Health on a project scoping the capabilities of communicators in the 'new' National Health Service. 

Originally a broadcast journalist, Anne spent 10 years as a senior practitioner before moving on to academia.  She was President of the CIPR in 2004, leading it to Chartered status and was awarded the Sir Stephen Tallents Medal in 2009 for her outstanding contribution to public relations.


Gregor Halff, Chair-Elect, IPRS, Singapore

Gregor Halff

Dr. Gregor Halff is professor at the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT, Berlin) and on leave from a professorship at Singapore Management University (SMU) where he was Associate Dean for the MBA and general management programmes until 2015. Gregor founded Asia-Pacific’s first MSc in Communication Management Programme at SMU and was a Visiting Professor at National Taiwan University of Science and Technology. Prior to joining academia, Gregor was managing partner at Publicis, where he co-founded Publicis Public Relations. Before that, Gregor worked in corporate communication at Siemens (Munich and Mumbai, among others). 

His books and journal publications focus on the internationalization of corporate communication. As a consultant Gregor has worked with Siemens, the European Central Bank, Qantas, ArcelorMittal, P&G, Nestlé, and Accor Group, among others. He holds a summa cum laude Ph.D. in communication. Gregor is Dutch, grew up in the Americas and calls both Singapore as well as Berlin home.

Daniel Tisch, Immediate Past-Chair, CPRS Fellow, Canada

Daniel Tisch

Daniel Tisch is CEO of Argyle Communications, one of Canada’s largest independent public relations firms, and a Fellow of the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS). He has counseled some of the world’s most respected brands, earning more than 150 awards from CPRS and the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC). Earlier, he held senior communications roles in the Canadian government, including serving as Senior Policy Advisor and Acting Chief of Staff to Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs. Daniel has lectured on public relations at Queen’s University School of Business since 1996 and is a member of the university’s board of trustees. As chair, he led the Global Alliance to unprecedented growth, chaired the international Melbourne Mandate process 

and the 2012 World Public Relations Forum, launched the GA COMM PRIX Awards and represented the profession with the International Integrated Reporting Council.

José Manuel Velasco, Treasurer, DIRCOM, Spain

José Manuel Velasco

José Manuel Velasco Guardado has a degree in Journalism from Madrid's Complutense University and completed the Advanced Strategic Program at the Institute for Management Development (IMD) in Lausanne (Switzerland). Mr. Velasco currently holds the position of General Manager of Communications and CSR and member of the Executive Committee at FCC, a global group of Environmental Services, Water and Construction.

Mr. Velasco's work experience includes 20 year at the energy company Unión Fenosa and the Spanish State-owned railway company (Renfe), both as Head of Communications. Prior to joining Renfe, he worked as a journalist for print media and radio broadcasters. From June 2008 to November

2014, he was chairman of the DIRCOM, the leading professional body in the corporate communications sector in Spain. He is also member of the GA board since June 2013.

Catherine Arrow, Secretary, FPRINZ, FCIPR, New Zealand

Catherine Arrow
Catherine Arrow is an international public relations consultant, educator and writer. She heads Unlocked PR, digital consultancy Social Capture and designs and delivers training and development programmes for fellow professionals around the world.  Since joining the Global Alliance board in 2008, Catherine has been instrumental in the delivery of a wide range of initiatives from the Stockholm Accords, Melbourne Mandate and Madrid Momentum, to the COMM PRIX awards, the credentials project, Association Leaders’ Workshops and three World Public Relations Forums. Her responsibilities with GA have also included communication, membership and resource development.
Catherine is a PRINZ Fellow, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations and a Chartered Public Relations Practitioner.
At PRINZ, she has been deeply involved in professional development, sharing knowledge and skills with fellow practitioners across all competencies, particularly online public relations, digital engagement, reputation and issues management, research, measurement and evaluation. She designed the PRINZ RIVER continuing professional development programme and is a member of PRINZ National Council.
Alongside her own consultancy work, which helps organisations of all kinds build and sustain the relationships critical to both their reputation and licence to operate, she lectures and speaks about public relations in New Zealand and around the world. Recent publications include a chapter on future public relations practice in the new CIPR book, Lessons from Expert Practitioners. Her career spans the northern and southern hemispheres and in 2012, she was presented with the PRINZ President’s Award for exemplary contribution to the profession.



Global Alliance Board Members 2013/2014

Adele Paulsen (PRISA, South Africa)

Alejandra Brandolini (CPRPA, Argentina)

Biagio Oppi (FERPI, Italy) 

José Manuel Velasco (Dircom, Spain) 

Judy VanSlyke Turk (VCU, USA)

Julian Kenny (PRIA, Australia)

Mateus Furlanetto (ABERJE, Brazil)

Mark Schumann (IABC, USA)

Therese Manus (NCA, Norway)



Past Chairs

Daniel Tisch (Canada), Past Chair 2011-2013

John Paluszek (USA), Past Chair 2009-2011

Colin Farrington (United Kingdom), Past Chair 2007-2009

Sej Motau (South Africa), Past Chair 2005-2007

Jean Valin (Canada), Past Chair 2003-2005

Toni Muzi Falconi (Italy), Past Chair 2001-2003

Deanna Pelfrey (USA), Interim Chair 2000-2001



Global Alliance Center (Lugano, Switzerland)

Elena Bernasconi, Executive Officer

Elisa Noli, Communication Manager

Anda Hirceaga, Content and Event Manager